Internet and the remuneration for private copying

For non-Belgian firms:

According to the imperative provisions of European law, all issues in connection with copyright and neighbouring rights are governed by the law of the Member State in which goods are offered for sale and/or sold through on-line services. As a result, when offering for sale and/or selling blank media supports through your website to the Belgian public, your company should comply with the Belgian law on copyright and neighbouring rights.

Pursuant to Article XI.229 of the Code of Economic Law, a remuneration is due to Auvibel each time blank media supports are put on the Belgian market. This obligation also applies to companies established outside the Belgian territory which offer for sale and/or sells blank sound and image media supports to persons established in Belgium. Indeed, in such case, the company established abroad is responsible for the intra-Community acquisition and qualifies as an intra-Community purchaser within the meaning of Article XI.229 of the Code of Economic Law. This was recently confirmed in sentences handed down by the Presiding Judge at the Court of First Instance in Brussels on 30 June 2005 (NL), 24 May 2006 (EN) and 27 July 2006 (EN).

We would advise you to mention on your website very clearly that the Auvibel-levy is applicable and will be charged directly to the Belgian buyer. State the levy separately on your Invoice! After the sale, you, as the seller, must declare and pay the remuneration to Auvibel.

For sellers on eBay, Kapaza, Yezzz, 2dehands and other auction sites:

If you offer goods subject to the levy on auction sites, the rules that currently apply are also applicable to you! So be extremely careful and apply the Auvibel levy in full!

For owners of auction sites:

Owners of auction sites (both Belgian and non-Belgian) can contact us. We are willing to look for appropriate solutions with them for the correct application of the remuneration for private copying. We can give them advice on warning messages, terms & conditions of sale, etc.

Nothing in the present legislation and current jurisprudence would indicate that they could get round their responsibility.

 

Penalties if the levy is evaded or not paid in time

The stipulations of Chapter XI of the law of 3 July 1969 concerning the introduction of legislation on Value Added Tax are applicable to infringements of the provisions of chapters IV to VI and to infringements of their implementing orders, whereby the term "tax" is replaced by "levy". (Art. XI. 293 of the Code of Economic Law)

Contact

Please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Internet et la rémunération pour la copie privée


Pour les entreprises étrangères:

Selon les dispositions impératives adoptées au niveau européen, ce sont les règles nationales en matière de droit d’auteur et de droit voisins de l’Etat membre où les produits sont offerts en vente et/ou vendus par Internet qui sont applicables. Il en résulte que, lorsque vous offrez en vente et/ou vendez par le biais de votre site Internet des produits soumis au public belge, c’est la législation belge en matière de droit d’auteur et de droits voisins qui s’applique.

En vertu de l’article XI.229 du Code de droit économique, une rémunération est due à Auvibel chaque fois que des produits soumis sont mis en circulation en Belgique. Cette obligation vaut également pour une entreprise établie hors du territoire belge qui offre en vente et/ou vend des produits soumis en Belgique. En effet, dans un tel cas de figure, cette entreprise assume la responsabilité de l’acquisition intracommunautaire et doit être considérée comme un acquéreur intracommunautaire au sens de l’article XI.229 du Code de droit économique. Cela a été récemment confirmé par le président du tribunal de première instance à Bruxelles dans les jugements du 30 juin 2005, 24 mai 2006 et 27 juillet 2006.

Nous vous conseillons d' indiquer clairement sur votre site web la rémunération Auvibel applicable et de la charger directement à votre acheteur belge.
Mentionnez la séparément sur votre facture!
Après la vente, vous devez, en votre qualité de vendeur, déclarer et payer la rémunération à Auvibel.


Pour les vendeurs sur eBay, Kapaza, Yezzz, 2dehands et autres sites d'enchères:

Si vous offrez des produits soumis sur des sites d'enchères, toutes règles en vigeur s'appliquent à vous également. Soyez donc extrêmement prudents et appliquez intégralement les redevances Auvibel.

 

Pour les propriétaires de sites d'enchères:

Les propriétaires de sites d'enchères (aussi bien belges qu'étrangers) peuvent se mettre en contact. Nous sommes ouvertes à rechercher avec eux des solutions appropriées en vue de l'application correcte de la rémunération pour la copie privée. Nous pouvons leur donner un avis à propos de messages d'avertissement, de conditions de vente, etc...

Rien n'indique dans l'etat de la législation et de la jurisprudence actuelle que leur responsabilité ne saurait être engagée.

 

 

Sanctions lorsque la rémunération est éludée ou n'est pas payée à temps

Les dispositions du chapitre XI de la loi du 3 juillet 1969 créant le Code de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée sont applicables aux infractions aux dispositions des chapitres IV a VI et à celles de leurs arrêtés d'application, le terme "taxe" étant remplacé par celui de "rémunération". (Art. XI.293 Code de droit économique)

Contact

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter.